Deadline: Institute for Precision Health Summer Fellowships

Iph Summer Fellowships 2021 1

We are happy to announce that we are now accepting applications for two summer graduate fellowships for 2021: the Leiva Graduate Fellowship in Precision Medicine and the O’Brien Family Endowment for Excellence FellowshipEvery application will automatically be considered for both fellowships.


The Leiva Graduate Fellowship in Precision Medicine recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding performance or who bring special qualities or abilities to the University of Notre Dame in the area of Precision Medicine research. The Fellowship acknowledges academic achievement, financial need, character, and qualities of leadership. In awarding the fellowships, preference is given to graduate students in the College of Engineering or College of Science whose scholarship is in the area of precision medicine research and education, or in a related biomedical science or engineering field. One $5,000 Leiva Fellowship will be awarded for Summer 2021.


The O’Brien Family Endowment for Excellence Fellowship supports efforts to develop biomedical tools and techniques that provide new capabilities to combat a wide range of illnesses and diseases. One $6,000 O’Brien Fellowship will be awarded for Summer 2021. (Note: the O’Brien Fellowship does have a preference toward finding a cure for Parkinson’s disease. It is not limited to that disease area, but any application received that does address Parkinson’s will merit extra consideration.)


The single online application includes a brief statement for proposed summer research, a personal statement, a recommendation letter from the student’s advisor, and the student’s CV.

The deadline to complete the application is Monday April12, at 11:59 p.m. Eligible students must be enrolled in the university for both the Spring 2021 and Fall 2021 semesters.


These fellowships are administered by the Institute for Precision Health on behalf of Notre Dame Research. Please direct questions to Corrine Hornbeck at or (574) 631-7385.


 Previous Institute for Precision Health Summer Fellows

2020 Arambage Dushani (Chemistry - Biochemistry)
2019: Joseph Chambers (Biological Sciences)

2019: Caitlin Donahue (Chemistry - Biochemistry)


Previous Leiva Fellows:

2020 Tracy Lynne Lockwood (Chemistry - Biochemistry
2019: Joshua Berwanger (Chemistry - Biochemistry)
2018: Kimberly Curtis (Bioengineering)
2017: Maria Cristina Miranda Vergara (Chemistry - Biochemistry)
2016: Anna McDermott (Bioengineering)